My Ideal Day At Home

Updated: Jul 7, 2021

I'm a tried-and-true homebody so I've got some experience with spending time at home. This is my idea of an ideal day at home as a currently unemployed person.

I am a homebody. I always have been and always will be even if it doesn’t quite hit the same right now. I have mixed feelings about it. On one hand, I admire my ability to be content with my own company. This is an incredible skill that takes some people an entire lifetime to develop. I'm grateful to have a rock-solid foundation within myself. On the other hand, I’ve become so content with my own company that I tend to get pretty extreme cases of social anxiety.

Regardless, I’ve realized it could be really hard for others to be at home right now against their will. People are being forced to live the life I voluntarily live and at times I feel guilty. I’ve talked about this with my therapist and we both agreed that having some sort of structure, schedule and routine is really helpful to avoid any kind of anxiety spiral situation or situation where the mind can spiral off into a depression from overthinking.

Therefore, I wanted to share my ideal schedule and hopefully, it can be helpful to anyone reading this who feels like their days blend together and totally get away from them. Here is what the hell I’m doing with my time in quarantine as an un-employed human being so that my brain doesn’t rot:

“I admire my ability to be content with my own company. This is an incredible skill that takes some people an entire lifetime to develop. I'm grateful to have a rock-solid foundation within myself.”


Ok, so admittedly I’m in kind of a weird place right now. I’m trying to reset my circadian rhythm by going to bed really early at 10 pm and waking up at 6:30 am. My body had been waking up naturally on its own so early and it’s been freaking me out since I’m not a morning person! I’ve been fighting it and trying to force my body to sleep in but I finally decided to just embrace it. Since I have trouble going to bed at 10, realistically I’m in bed by 11:00 pm, 11:30 pm, and I wake up anywhere from 6:30 am-7:30 am.

When I wake up, I take my time and usually do my skincare routine first. Then I hop back and bed, write in my gratitude journal and do my first 20-minute Transcendental Meditation. After my meditation, I consult the Tarot. Recite a personal incantation that I made up (L.O.L) and ask for spiritual guidance for that specific day. Sometimes I mix Oracle card decks in with the Tarot but I do this religiously because it helps me stay connected to my spirituality which is a priority to me.

After that, I hop on the bike. I actually love working out in the morning and I never thought I'd hear myself say that! Right now I’m still working my way through 20-minute beginner rides and 30-minute advanced beginner rides but I’m already really seeing a change in my body just from doing it consistently and that’s been pretty incredible. I can’t wait to work my way up through the levels and being part of the Peleton community helps me feel connected to humans and you know, society.

By this point, I’m ready for breakfast. For a long time, I would wake up, drink a smoothie, have snacks in the afternoon then have kale for dinner. However, I do Martial Arts 3 times a week. Additionally, I’m now riding the bike almost every day and my body just started feeling so weak and I was getting so shaky by the time I was ready to eat dinner. I think I might have low blood sugar which means I need to eat regularly, three times a day. I’m curious about looking into Aruyveda and into the diet for my specific body type. One thing I know for sure is that I’m so much more energized with food and feel so much better when I exercise. I try to keep my breakfast small, usually, I have oatmeal maybe some avocado toast too. I like to keep my largest meal my lunch and like to eat lunch around noon. I try to keep my dinner small too but I definitely end up ordering out once in a while and splurging.

MORNING 10:00 AM-12:00 PM

Next, I will usually take a shower at this point and take my time to style my hair. I like putting on a tiny bit of make-up because it makes me feel like myself. Once I’m done with my baby glam routine, I’ll devote time to educating myself. It’s at this point where I’ll take time to educate myself about the Black Lives Matter Movement, donate when I can, sign petitions, watch videos on YouTube, or listen to podcasts. If it’s a Monday, that usually when I do laundry, and when I do laundry I love listening to educational podcasts, listening to music, or listening to podcasts about astrology. I'm a ride or die Jessica Lanyadoo "Ghost of a Podcast" fan. I will also take this chunk of time to write posts for my blog or curate content. I am also taking a global and ethnic fashion class and sometimes we have Zoom meetings during this time too.

AFTERNOON 12:00 PM-4:00 PM

This is where I will eat and make lunch for a queen. That queen being myself of course because I deserve it. I love making veggie and lentil egg-scrambles. I also have tea all throughout the day since I don’t drink coffee anymore. After breakfast, this is the period where I usually do homework or reading for my classes which takes me quite a bit of time since I’m a slow reader but also because I always triple check my work and spend a lot of time on things. By 3:35 pm I will go into my group meditation on Zoom where we do our second Transcendental Meditation of the day together. This usually ends by 4 or a couple minutes after. I love drinking Arnold Palmers for my mid-day pick me up and snacking on some dark chocolate to improve my mood. By the way, throughout the day I am also drinking tons of water. I try to drink 3-4 water bottles a day which is about 60-75 ounces a day. This keeps me hydrated and helps avoid headaches.


After my second group meditation is when I will finally take my finished laundry up to my room to fold while I listen to podcasts or music to get pumped for my evening Martial Arts classes. Maybe have a protein bar or a snack. And by maybe I mean probably. I change and sometimes like to stretch before class. My classes go from 6:00-8:15 on Zoom.

EVENING 8:15 PM- 11:00 PM

After class, I usually shower or at least wash my body off. Then I have a small dinner since it's so late. This is the time where I light candles, binge my favorite tv shows, or watch a movie to unwind. Since I wake up early before I know it I’m ready for bed at senior hours. I do my skincare routine and I play ocean waves crashing on the beach while I do this to get ready for bed. I write in my gratitude journal and drop some lavender essential oil droplets on my pillow since I’m a very big scent and sensory person. Lastly, I make sure to leave my phone in my bathroom while I sleep instead of placing it on bed-stand. I don’t want to absorb the harmful radiation it emits while sleeping.

That completes my ideal day at home! I know this is incredibly simple and mundane. If anything, it’s validation that you don’t need to do much to feel happy. Maybe that’s just me but I don’t really consider myself to be a simple person and yet I can still be satisfied with simplicity. Maybe this is because I'm so complex on the inside!

A lot of times I will make an effort to take a walk or spend some time outside. If my muscles are hurting I’ll squeeze in a nice bath. I think I’m a professional at self-care and although it’s a really challenging time, right now we are all given a gift to discover what methods of self-care work for us and how important it is to make sure we take care of ourselves.

What are your favorite activities to do at home? Do you like to keep a schedule? Is my ideal day totally boring? Let me know in the comments below. Until next time!